Florida lawmakers passed House Bill 425 this year, which includes the expansion of the current “Move Over Law” that requires drivers to move over a lane (when safe to do so) for law enforcement, emergency workers, sanitation crews, tow trucks, construction vehicles, and utility service vehicles. The law now requires that drivers move over for any car that’s stopped with their hazards on or stopped with one or more persons visible. This expansion aims to reduce the number of accidents and fatalities among roadside workers at high risk of being struck by passing vehicles.
Beginning Jan. 1, 2024, Florida Motorists Are Required To Move Over If:
- There is a disabled motor vehicle that is stopped and displaying warning lights or hazard lights.
- If a vehicle is stopped and is using emergency flares or posting emergency signage.
- When a vehicle is stopped, one or more persons are visibly present.
What if You Can't Move Over a Lane?
Motorists who can't move over, or when driving on a two-lane road, should:
Slow to 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.
Slow down to 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less.
What Can I Do To Prevent an Accident When Approaching an Emergency Vehicle, Traffic congestion, Vehicle With Hazards On, or a Construction area?
The most important thing you can do to protect yourself and others is to pay attention behind the wheel. Suppose you keep your eyes ahead of you on the road and pay attention to the activity around you (other vehicles, signs, etc.). In that case, you can anticipate problems and react quickly to potentially dangerous events.
What Can Happen if I Break Florida's Move-Over Law?
You will be issued a ticket and must pay a fine between $60 and $158. You could crash into a vehicle or strike someone causing serious injury. You could injure or kill another person or yourself.
Have You Been Injured In A Florida Car Accident? Williams Law, P.A. Is Here To Help
If you or a loved one has been hurt in a car accident, speak with an experienced Florida car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Please get in touch with us online or call our Florida law office at 800.451.6786 to schedule your free consultation. We help Florida residents like you who have been injured in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall, or other accident resulting in an injury. Remember, we work on a contingent basis, meaning you don't pay us anything until we win your case.